Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Monsoon Cup starts tomorrow

[Source: World Match Racing Tour] The Monsoon Cup is the final Stage, of the 2006-07 season. In its third year the Monsoon Cup has maintained its prominent position on the World Tour. Offering the richest prize purse for a sailing event, RM1 million ($300,000).

The Monsoon Cup 2007 is the final ISAF Grade WC match race regatta this year and will see a new ISAF Match Racing World Champion crowned. To ensure the Monsoon Cup is an absolute thriller championship points from the event count double and must be included in the series score, guaranteeing a fight to the end with any one of 5 of the top teams able to win the World Championship.

Duyong Island at the mouth of the Terengganu River plays host to the Monsoon Cup where the purpose built sailing facility acts as a grandstand overlooking the racing area making a spectacular setting for this final event. The Monsoon Cup will be sailed in the identically matched and supplied Bakewell-White designed Foundation 36’s with 5 crew.

Entry List
Mathieu Richard (FRA) – Saba Sailing Team
Ian Williams (GBR) – Team Pindar
Paolo Cian (ITA) – Shosholoza
Sebastien Col – Areva Challenge
Bjorn Hansen (DEN) – Team Apport.net
Peter Gilmour (AUS) – PST
Jesper Radich (AUS) – Radich Racing Team
Staffan Lindberg (FIN) – Alandia Sailing Team
Katie Spithill (AUS) – Team Acuity
Torvar Mirsky (AUS) – Torvar Mirsky Team
Adam Minoprio (NZL) – BlackMatch Racing
Tiffany Koo (MAS) – Selangor UK Halsey Gapurna



Post a Comment

<< Home