Thursday, November 26, 2009

Williams ahead after day one of Sunseeker Australia Cup

[Source: Sunseeker Australia Cup] At close of day one at the 2009 Sunseeker Australia Cup, reigning double World Match Racing Champion, Skipper Ian Williams from Great Britain, is the current leader after winning a spectacular four from four matches.

Not to be outdone by local Perth talent Torvar Mirsky (Australia) and Adam Minoprio (New Zealand) who both won three from three matches respectively. Sunseeker Australia Cup organiser and former America’s Cup winner Skip Lissiman said Williams was the standout performance after day one.

“We had challenging conditions that were very flustery and a new course in Perth waters that none of the Skippers had sailed in so it is impressive that Williams won four from four on day one,” Lissiman said.

Skip added he was very pleased with how well the Perth water course and worked after a 145 year racing absence. “The tight course in Perth waters puts incredible pressure on the crews which ensures we have some incredible viewing near the Barrack street jetty area. I even had people saying they watched the racing action from their offices,” he said.

Perth skipper Torvar Mirsky said he enjoyed getting back out on water this morning. “The team hasn’t sailed together since the Match Cup in Sweden, so it was great to get back on the water together and go through our paces,” Mirksy said.

“We had three races in Matilda bay and won all three and I am happy with that result. We’ve had great conditions so far, the wind was strong and it looks like it staying here. It will be good to get back out and race the rest of the ten teams and firm up a solid lead,” he said.

Conditions were excellent, with strong SSW winds blowing at 12 knots with morning racing occurring in Matilda Bay and then the afternoon contests in Perth Waters. The teams are ready for some fierce competition during day two, with the tight Perth Waters course and close shoreline viewing aiming to please competitors and spectators alike.

Current Skipper wins at the close of day one

1. Ian Williams (Great Britain) 4/4
2. Torvar Mirsky (Australia) 3/3
3. Adam Minoprio (New Zealand) 3/3
4. Seve Jarvin (Australia) 1/4
5. Mathieu Richard (France) 1/1
6. Keith Swinton (Australia) 1/1
7. Ben Ainslie (Great Britain) 1/1
8. Francesco Bruni (Italy) 0/4
9. Evan Walker (Australian) 0/5

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home