Monday, March 29, 2010

Marc Guillemot 2009 IMOCA champion

[Source: Vendée Globe] The skipper of Safran was crowned 2009 IMOCA world champion after finishing ahead of Michel Desjoyeaux and Armel Le Cléac’h in the annual rankings. Marc Guillemot received his title at the headquarters of the Safran Group, in the presence of the boat’s godmother, Claudie Haigneré and other skippers, who took part in the 2009 championship, including Michel Desjoyeaux, Jean Le Cam, Kito de Pavant, Arnaud Boissières, Yannick Bestaven, Jean-Pierre Dick…

Marc Guillemot received the 2009 IMOCA world champion trophy from the hands of Jean-Pierre Champion, President of the French Sailing Federation after totalling 362 points, ahead of Michel Desjoyeaux (Foncia) and Armel Le Cléac’h (Brit Air). This result rewards Safran’s consistency at the highest level, as Marc Ventre, member of the Board of Safran pointed out: "Safran has achieved a remarkable set of results: not only did she complete the three IMOCA championship races she took part in, but she also finished the season at the top of the rankings with her win in the Transat Jacques Vabre last November. This technological success would mean nothing, it it did not also involve the fantastic human adventure that we owe to Marc… "

As for Marc Guillemot, he congratulated his team and offered his warmest thanks to the Safran Group for their support. He then paid homage to his fellow competitors and took advantage of the occasion to offer them a signed copy of his book, “Vrai Faux Solitaire.”

2009 IMOCA rankings
1 Marc Guillemot (Safran) 362 pts
2 Michel Desjoyeaux (Foncia) 357 pts
3 Armel Le Cléac’h (Brit Air) 338 pts
4 Sam Davies (Artemis II) 321 pts
5 Vincent Riou (PRB) 304 pts
6 Dee Caffari (Aviva) 295 pts
7 Arnaud Boissières (Akena Vérandas) 292 pts
8 Brian Thompson (Pindar) 281 pts
9 Steve White (Spirit of Weymouth) 250 pts
10 Richard Wilson (Great American III) 220 pts

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home